Florida Marriage Licenses - Frequently Asked Questions
- Who may apply for a marriage license?
- Any male or female 18 years of age or older.
- A minor whose parents are deceased and no guardian is appointed.
- With a judge’s approval, minors, who under oath, swear that they are parents or expectant parents of a child. In addition, a written statement of a licensed physician must verify the pregnancy.
- A previously married minor.
- A person under 18 with parental or guardian consent.
- What do I need to apply for a marriage license?
- Both parties must be present when applying for a marriage license.
- Couples are required by law to read a handbook supplied by the Clerk and sign a statement acknowledging that they have read the handbook before applying for the license. This can be done the same day as applying for the license or you may download the booklet by following the link on this page, and read it before your arrival.
- To expedite the licensing process, you may download the Marriage License Information Sheet by following the link on this page, complete it, and bring it with you to the Marriage License Department.
- Additionally, depending on which category applies to you, you will need to bring the following information:
- Applicants 18 years of age or older:
- Each party must show a valid driver's license or state ID, a passport or military identification.
- Both parties must provide their Social Security numbers.
- If either party has been previously married, the party must provide the day, month and year his or her last marriage ended.
- Applicants under the age of 18:
If either the bride or groom is under the age of 18, the Clerk's Office is authorized to issue a marriage license if one of the following conditions is met:
- The prospective bride or groom under the age of 18 has a written consent from his or her parents or guardian;
- If the minor applicant has been married previously, the Clerk's office will issue a marriage license provided the applicants furnish documentation evidencing the prior marriage.
- A County Judge is authorized to issue a marriage license to any applicant under the age of 18, if one of the following conditions are met:
- Both applicants swear under oath that they are the parents of a child;
- The female applicant is pregnant and this fact is verified by a licensed physician’s written statement and both parties swear under oath that they are the expectant parents of a child.
- The Clerks Office will schedule a hearing, if necessary, with a County Court Judge who will then decide to issue or deny the license based upon the circumstances of the application and the accompanying documentation. A fee of $93.50 is required. If the judge denies the request, $93.50 is refundable.
- How much is the fee for the marriage license?
The standard fee is $93.50; however, applicants who file certification that both parties have completed a premarital preparation course with a registered provider, are entitled to a $32.50 discount, making their fee $61.00.
- Do you accept credit cards for payment?
No, we accept cash, checks or money orders only.
- Is there a waiting period after issuance of the license?
There is no waiting period for Florida residents who file certification that they both have completed a premarital preparation course from a registered provider within the past 12 months. For Florida residents who have not taken the course, there is a three day waiting period between issuance of the license and the time it becomes valid for use. For non-Florida residents, the waiting period is waived.
- How is the waiting period counted?
The date the license is issued does count as the first day. You will need to wait two additional full days. You may then be married on the following day. For example, if you obtain your marriage license on Friday, you can marry on Monday.
- Where can I take the premarital preparation course?
Many local churches and counseling services offer the course. Check with the marriage license office in your county to see who offers the course in your area.
- Can persons obtain licenses to marry partners of their own gender?
No, Florida law specifies that one applicant must be male and the other female.
- Are blood tests required?
No, the law requiring a blood test was abolished October 1, 1986.
- Must I apply for a marriage license in the county where I live?
No, a marriage license may be applied for and used in any Florida county.
- Do one or both of the marriage license applicants have to be American citizens?
No, there is no citizenship requirement.
- How long is a marriage license valid once it is issued?
The license is valid for 60 days after issuance. The effective date and expiration date are noted on the license. The ceremony can be performed anywhere in the State of Florida. The marriage license form must be returned to the Clerk’s Office where it was obtained for recording within 10 days after the marriage is performed.
- Who may perform a marriage license ceremony?
The following may perform marriage ceremonies:
- A regularly ordained minister or other ordained clergy;
- Elders in communion with some church;
- All judicial officers (judges)
- Clerks of Circuit Court and their deputies
- Notaries public of the State of Florida
In addition, the law provides that marriages may be performed among “Quakers” or “Friends,” in the manner and form used or practiced in their societies.
- Can I be married at the Clerk's Office?
Yes, deputy clerks can perform a civil marriage ceremony. There is a charge of $30.00 for that service.
- Do I need to bring witnesses for a ceremony?
No, witnesses are not required in the State of Florida.
- How do we go about renewing our vows?
Talk to your clergyman, chaplain, other religious adviser or personal counselor.
- Do we need to obtain a license to renew our vows?
- Correcting an error on your license:
When your marriage license is issued you are asked to look it over and verify that all the information is correct. Later, if a change needs to be made, and the license has been sent to the Bureau of Vital Statistics, an Amended Marriage License is issued at no charge.
- Where can I write for a certified copy of my marriage license?
One certified copy is provided as part of the marriage license fee. Extra certified copies are $2.50. To obtain additional certified copies of a marriage license issued in Volusia County, write to:
Diane Matousek, Clerk of the Circuit Court
ATTN: Marriage License Records
P. O. Box 6043
DeLand, FL 32721-6043
If your license was issued in any other Florida county, contact the clerk’s office in the county where it was issued, or write to:
Florida Department of Health
Division of Vital Statistics
P. O. Box 210
Jacksonville, FL 32231-0042
Phone (904) 359-6900
- Correcting an error on your license: When your marriage license is issued you are asked to look it over and verify that all the information is correct. Later, if a change needs to be made, and the license has been sent to the Bureau of Vital Statistics, an Amended Marriage License is issued at no charge.